Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 26, 2024, 11:34 pm

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Origin of Matter
Origin of Matter
Hi all, this is my first time posting. I'm a Christian and I want to discuss what is the origin of matter?  Wouldn't the origin have to be something (1) natural, (2) nothingness/null/void, (3) supernatural, or (4) paranormal?  One might argue "we don't know" which I can appreciate, but it would have to fall in one of those four categories, right?  Thank you in advance for your responses to get the conversation rolling!
RE: Origin of Matter
I'll start with a Hello and let the more sciencie players take over.
I don't have an anger problem, I have an idiot problem.
No.

https://www.thoughtco.com/definition-of-...les-604565

Quote:In science, matter is the term for any type of material. Matter is anything that has mass and takes up space. At a minimum, matter requires at least one subatomic particle, although most matter consists of atoms.

Nothing "supernatural" or "paranormal" about it.
Minimalist, I don't think I was clear enough. I was asking if the origin of matter must be one of the four categories I listed (it doesn't need to include all of the four categories). If supernatural and paranormal are not options, then natural and nothingness/null/void would be possibilities. A better way to ask might be is there any other potential origin of matter outside a natural or nothingness/null/void origin (if supernatural and paranormal are excluded)? So, the origin of matter must be natural OR supernatural OR nothingness/null/void OR paranormal. Right? No other possibilities outside of those four (or those 2 if we exclude supernatural and paranormal).