Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: May 11, 2024, 12:58 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Hello, I'm an atheist and a geologist
Hello, I'm an atheist and a geologist
Hi everyone. My name username describes what I do. I'll let you folks figure out what it means. I'm also an active amateur astronomer. So of course, I love to have discussions about science. I note that there is a gentleman currently posting who claims to be a science teacher and yet is obviously a YEC. I've got years of experience arguing with these folks and so I welcome all YEComers. But be warned, my BS-O-meter runs 24/7.

I too prefer to keep the discussion reasonable and civil, and hope that we can all do so. Remember, we are all adults here. Let's try to act the part.

-OGM
RE: Hello, I'm an atheist and a geologist
Have fun (although "arguing" with such lunatics gives them more credit than they deserve. )

(October 14, 2010 at 12:15 pm)Minimalist Wrote: Have fun (although "arguing" with such lunatics gives them more credit than they deserve. )

Not all are crazy. Some can be reasoned with, and it is those who I focus on the most. If I can persuade a few to see things a bit differently, at least to question what they have come to believe, I've accomplished what I've set out to do. I didn't come to my conclusions about life overnight and I don't expect anyone else to either.
Welcome

I applaud your patience discussing with YECs (I can't say the same for myself). Well, even if you can't reason with them it maybe an oportunity of us to learn a thing of two on geology. Smile
(October 14, 2010 at 12:39 pm)LastPoet Wrote: Welcome