Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: March 29, 2024, 6:27 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
An Interesting thing About Light
An Interesting thing About Light
I was just thinking (shut up, Iggy) about light and my thoughts led me to a curious conclusion. Not being a scientist, I may be totally wrong, but then again, I may be half right. What do you think?

I mentioned some time ago that when we turn a light switch off the photons that have already spread throughout the room disappear. So radiation of visible light is not separate from its source.It just occurred to me that this means that while the light from a star a million light years away will take a million years to reach us, when that star dies, it won't take a million years for the radiation that has reached us to disappear.

Have any scientists written about this behavior of light? I'd like to know what they have to say.
The god who allows children to be raped out of respect for the free will choice of the rapist, but punishes gay men for engaging in mutually consensual sex couldn't possibly be responsible for an intelligently designed universe.

I may defend your right to free speech, but i won't help you pass out flyers.

Those who can make you believe absurdities, can make you commit atrocities.
--Voltaire

Nietzsche isn't dead. How do I know he lives? He lives in my mind.
RE: An Interesting thing About Light
An interesting thing about light; it's better than heavy.
"Never trust a fox. Looks like a dog, behaves like a cat."
~ Erin Hunter
The photons don't disappear, they are scattered or absorbed by solid objects.

If our sun were to wink out right now, we wouldn't know it visually for about 8 minutes. Alpha Centauri, 4.4 years
Correct Rhonda.
Quite a good portion of the night sky has long died.