Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: March 29, 2024, 11:47 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Surreal day on the job...more of the same on the way.
Surreal day on the job...more of the same on the way.
I work as a bookkeeper on a contract basis through an agency.  I get sent to help when things are a mess, usually.  When someone up and left and hadn't been doing their job for a while or when there is a software conversion and some cleanup needs to be done or covering for someone on a leave of absence or medical leave.  Some assignments are great...some, not so much.

I finished an assignment at a law firm last week and went out on a new assignment today.  Well, this is going to be interesting.  Not counting the fact the commute is awful there are some other...shall we say - issues.

It's at a rather large Baptist church.  It's in an area that serves very wealthy people...like people who own their own planes and have regular appointments with their plastic surgeons.  This church has been around since the 50s and has been built onto and from what I can tell - takes in a shit ton of money.

So, yeah... the accounting office is in the basement of the original part of the church with the sanctuary above.  I spent over 90 minutes with the safety guy who went over everything from stranger danger to tornados to bomb threats to active shooter protocol.  There are nearly 170 cameras - monitored - on the grounds, inside and out.  God must be slacking if they need all that - I wonder if the evolve fish on my back window is now part of some secret threat file.

Looking at three months possibly on this gig.

“If you are the smartest person in the room, then you are in the wrong room.” — Confucius

RE: Surreal day on the job...more of the same on the way.