Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 17, 2024, 10:23 pm

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
A new member. A Catholic school teacher.
A new member. A Catholic school teacher.
Hello there. I am from North East England and am actually taking quite a risk in posting on this forum but I am determined to speak to like minded people as regards my current developing stance on philosophy and personal enlightenment.

I am a Catholic teacher in a Catholic school, but I have very recently questioned my beliefs with increasing fervour.

Reading Hitchens, Dawkins, Russell, Kant and Schopenhauer I have come to the conclusion that my own belief system has long been without vigour for quite some time. I have been going through the motions. Proselytising to the children as a mouthpiece for the church, rather than being allowed to educate with the trust of personal responsibility.

I am looking to leave my position within the next few months, but it is increasingly important to me that I remove myself in order that my hypocrisy not damage both my personal sense, my professional sense and my personal philosophy.

However, being as I am a relatively senior member of the school, it will be very difficult to move out of the Catholic system without something looking quite odd. It also means my options are immediately lessened.

But my family need a room over their heads and an income coming in.

Thanks for listening and I am welcome to all opinions.
RE: A new member. A Catholic school teacher.
Welcome! Tough position you've got there. I hope we can help you in some way Smile
I'm sure there are many people in religiously based professions trapped like you.

You can fix ignorance, you can't fix stupid.

Tinkety Tonk and down with the Nazis.