Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: March 28, 2024, 3:26 pm

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Crucifixion question
Crucifixion question
I am the first to admit that I am no expert on this subject, but I have always wondered about one aspect of Crucifixion.

As I understand it, the criminal was made to carry his own cross up the hill before being crucified. When the Roman soldier said to the victim "I want you to carry this heavy cross up the hill so we can nail you onto it and leave you hanging until you die" What would stop him saying the Aramaic equivalent of "Piss off, carry it yourself!"
What could they do that was worse than Crucifixion?

(This is nothing to do with the religious aspects of the story, just a practical question)
The meek shall inherit the Earth, the rest of us will fly to the stars.

Never underestimate the power of very stupid people in large groups

Arguing with an engineer is like wrestling with a pig in mud ..... after a while you realise that the pig likes it!

RE: Crucifixion question
Sounds like it comes down to how much torture do you want before the real torture begins.
I don't have an anger problem, I have an idiot problem.
Crucifixion is a dawdle....
It's the equivalence of us obeying cops when they tell us to do someone.
Knowing what was about to happen to you, you might as well tell them to piss off, on top of that I reckon if you gave them a quick knee to the balls your death would be a lot quicker.
(April 14, 2019 at 10:08 am)IWNKYAAIMI Wrote: Knowing what was about to happen to you, you might as well tell them to piss off, on top of that I reckon if you gave them a quick knee to the balls your death would be a lot quicker.

Just what I was thinking, at that point you have nothing to lose