Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 26, 2024, 12:10 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Why are Christians against evolution?
Why are Christians against evolution?
Hi, here goes.

I'm a philosophy and theology student in the UK, and the more I study the more I struggle to understand why (some) Christians have a problem with evolution. I think there's no reason why we shouldn't come at it looking at the evidence like everyone else - and there are much more important things to worry about! I thought I'd investigate some of the reasons and try to put together an article on why Christianity doesn't require a rejection of evolutionary theory. Basically, I'd like to look at the arguments for a Christian rejection of evolution one by one and dismiss them. The ones I've come up with so far are:

1: Evolution contradicts the Bible ('we can't say the earth is 6000 years old')
2: Evolution insults human dignity ('we can't say we're different from animals')
3: Evolution defeats arguments to design (we can't say 'God made that!')
4: Evolution leaves no room for the doctrine of the Fall (we can't explain where right and wrong come from)
5: Religion and Science are naturally conflicting ('whose side are you on?')

So my questions are: Have you come across other arguments for a Christian rejection of evolution? What are they? Why do birds, suddenly appear, every time, you are near?

Thanks, much appreciated.

Cleanthes
RE: Why are Christians against evolution?
Good question.

Well basically, if Christians accept the ToE, that means the whole Garden of Eden with Adam and Eve never happened, which means there is no original sin therefore the whole Jesus dying at the cross to absolve us from original sin makes no sense.

That is in a nutshell the whole anti-evolution argument.
Best regards,