Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 16, 2024, 9:46 am

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Catholicism: "Our Teachings have never changed" claim
Hi guys

So..Yeah, I'm new here, and I was hoping one of you might know something that could help me out. I've been looking around but eh...90% of Theology/Church history sites are biased between one group of biblethumpers or another trying to paint the other as silly/moronic/satanic/whatever. I'm looking for an outside opinion.

Much as it might amuse some of you I'm actually an RE student and I've been pulled into a debate with a Catholic. Now, I've got a pretty good handle on what Catholics think about the world but I'm no expert on Catholic Church history. One of the things this guy is insisting upon is that the Catholic Church has at no point ever changed one of its teachings, doctrines or Dogmas, same today as it was a thousand years ago.

I've mentioned a few things across history that I know of like the sin of Ursury being abolished/"reinterpreted" (lending money with interest), the heretic popes Virgilius and Honorius, the idea that all non-Catholics are going to hell (rethought during vatican II) and the idea of Limbo vanishing but he's having none of it; these aren't infallible teachings and don't count.

I honestly thought some of Virgilius's statements could be counted as infalliable but either way...Do any of you guys know anything I could reference or refer to? Any tips are appreciated.

Vox
RE: Catholicism: "Our Teachings have never changed" claim