Our server costs ~$56 per month to run. Please consider donating or becoming a Patron to help keep the site running. Help us gain new members by following us on Twitter and liking our page on Facebook!
Current time: April 25, 2024, 6:04 pm

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Can we get a someone posted before you warning?
Can we get a someone posted before you warning?
In most forums that I've seen, if you take a while to type a post and one or more people post in the meantime, a warning will appear telling you that when you hit the post button, so that you can adjust your post accordingly. It's handy. Can we have one of those?
RE: Can we get a someone posted before you warning?
I'm not an expert on forum coding, but I do have a basic understanding of how websites work, and that doesn't seem plausible.
"The way to see by faith is to shut the eye of reason." Benjamin Franklin

::Blogs:: Boston Atheism Examiner - Boston Atheists Blog | :Tongueodcast:: Boston Atheists Report
Seriously. Almost every forum I have ever posted on does this. Most of those have been SMF, but that shouldn't matter. When you click on the "post" button, a little warning (much like the "old post" warning we have now) appears and lets you know that others have posted since you clicked "reply" and gives you the opportunity to change your post if needed. I shit you not.
SMF?

Seriously every forum I've ever posted on never does this, so forgive me if I don't understand exactly what you mean and maybe providing an example of this would help.

Ultimately it's not up to me, I don't code the forums, but it may help to show us what you mean.

::Blogs:: Boston Atheism Examiner - Boston Atheists Blog | :Tongueodcast:: Boston Atheists Report
SMF stands for Simple Machines Forum. I'll try to get a screen shot of it and get back to you. It is really quite handy.